A great loss

This morning began with strange weather and some very sad news. My husband’s grandfather peacefully passed away surrounded by his children, wife and loved ones. After fighting for too long to hold on, he is now in a better and more gentle place.

I haven’t known Grandpa Sigle for long, but since meeting him in 2008, he filled the gap I have always had growing up without grandfathers. His German spunk and humor always made me laugh during our visits in Chicago. I truly don’t think he knew how funny he was. His love of movies and war films was extensive. When we first met, he told me he would never forget my name because he would think of Meg Ryan. Hey, whatever works!

I know his family will miss him so much now that he is gone. There is a quote that I think is especially fitting for this sad day.

“If we have been pleased with life, we should not be displeased with death, since it comes from the hand of the same master”.
(Michelangelo)

Grandpa Sigle had a wonderful life filled with the most loving and supportive wife, three sweet children and lots of happy grandchildren. That he went peacefully with them by his side is a blessing that will be treasured.

Rest in peace, Grandpa Sigle. I know you are spreading laughter up in heaven while you watch over all of us who love you.

Love,

“Meg Ryan”

4 thoughts on “A great loss

  1. Meg, I am so touched by your tribute to my dad. I am on my way to my mom’s and will share it with her. You are truly a dear daughter-in-law! Love and kisses! Your, Mom-in-law

Leave a Reply

