Better to give than to recieve

This is such a true statement. Don’t get me wrong, presents are always fun to get! I much prefer the challenge of finding a great, meaningful gift for someone and then watching them open it! If you haven’t already figured it out, February is a very busy birthday month in our family. My dad’s birthday is Feb. 4th, mine and Heather’s is on the 9th, my mom and my father-in-law share the 12th and my mother-in-law’s is on the 20th! Whew. Let’s not forget Valentine’s Day in all of this chaos.

I wanted to highlight two personal gifts I gave my sister, Heather, and my mom. Heather is currently studying to become a nutritionist while she is a kindergarten and first grade teacher. I came across these precious necklaces on Etsy and knew I had to get one for her. They are vintage dictionary words hand-cut by the artist and put into a glass circle or oval. You can customize your word!

The pencils are also from an Etsy shop and I found them more than appropriate for a teacher and a future nutritionist! They are also available with other phrases and colors. The Etsy world is great isn’t it? If you haven’t checked it out, you really should.

For my lovely mother, I wanted to make her something useful and my intentions were originally for her classroom. I found a great frame still wrapped in plastic at Goodwill and snatched it up.

 

I added 2 coats of ASCP in Old White leaving a few places exposed. Next, a clear wax coat followed by some sanding and then a light dusting of dark wax in certain places for a distressed look. The frame came with a mat and I like the clean look it gave the rustic frame. I removed the glass and replaced it with a piece of cork board I had leftover from another project. It needed a pick-me-up so I covered the cork board in burlap and then hand painted an apple on it. For the finishing touch, I hot glued a burlap ribbon to the top for some feminine charm!

Heather and my mom loved their gifts and it was nice to see them smile when opening them! Turns out my mom doesn’t have much wall space in her classroom so the frame will most likely make an appearance in her kitchen to post messages and notes in style!

Leave a Reply

