Back in the saddle

That’s what I would say if I had a horse. But thank God I don’t because even in a new house, I’d have nowhere to put him! Things are starting to come together here and I’m getting my hands dirty with paint again. I’ve been working on projects the past few months but haven’t had a second to sit down and put pictures and words to them. Time to dust off the old laptop and enter the blogosphere again!

Yesterday I spent the better part of my day working on projects for my boss at M.Quinn designs. I couldn’t get my thoughts together  until I organized our garage and made sense of all of my supplies.

It’s not the greatest photo because Brian’s camera was buried somewhere in a pile of boxes. I needed to get my paint and tools in order so I wasn’t running around searching for things and wasting precious time. In a house that has four levels, nothing makes my stomach sink faster than realizing I left something on the top floor when I’m in the garage.

The green wall shelf was a yard sale find for $8. To the right of that is an old shoe organizer that we no longer needed but I knew I could put to use in the garage. It now hangs on a curtain rod we didn’t have a need for. The racquets and other miscellaneous things are hanging on shower curtain hooks. I love giving mundane things a real purpose!

I also needed to create a safe place to spray paint some pieces. Now I can simply walk out to our back yard and create a little nook. I can’t say that was possible before in a third floor apartment!

A tarp, two nails and a hammer and we’re in business. Considering yesterday was pretty breezy, I still walked away with a slight, white dusting on my pedicure.

Today I started painting a few things, but I will get to those tomorrow. I did start experimenting with mixing my own chalk paint! I felt a little like a mad scientist.

 

Ah Starbucks! Those little cups aren’t just for morning pick-me-ups. Doesn’t paint look delicious dripping down the side? I decided to name this custom mix, “Skinny Vanilla Latte” for obvious reasons. This mixture has a few other ingredients in it but I will go more in depth on that later. Now it’s time for me to crawl into bed and read my new HGTV magazine!

Happy to be back!

4 thoughts on “Back in the saddle

  1. I’m glad you are back! We missed your posts. The house looks great and how convenient to just walk out back to spray paint. And Starbucks….oh Starbucks. 🙂 Welcome back!

  2. I am also glad you are back! After talking to Brian the other day, I thought….it’s been awhile since Meg sent out her blog!

Leave a Reply

