Homemade granola

Sometimes there are things in life that just need to be passed along. This granola recipe is a treasure and a little bit of an addiction. I referenced it in a previous post from Easter when we made them as take-away gifts. I realized that wasn’t deserving enough and decided it needed its own post. I made it the other day and our house felt more like home.

Here is the magical recipe:

Olive Oil Granola With Dried Apricots and Pistachios

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

1 1/2 cups raw pistachios, hulled

1 cup raw pumpkin seeds, hulled

1 cup coconut chips

3/4 cup pure maple syrup

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom

3/4 cup chopped dried apricots

Fresh ricotta, for serving (optional)

Fresh berries, for serving (optional).

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a large bowl, combine oats, pistachios, pumpkin seeds, coconut chips, maple syrup, olive oil, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon and cardamom. Spread mixture on a rimmed baking sheet in an even layer and bake for 45 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes, until golden brown and well toasted.

2. Transfer granola to a large bowl and add apricots, tossing to combine. Serve with ricotta and fruit, if desired.

Yield: About 9 cups.

A few side notes:

It’s important when you mix everything together that you mix all of the dry ingredients separately from the wet. If you mix the sugar, maple syrup, olive oil and spices together first then pour it over, it coats the oats more evenly.

I use the Gluten Free oats from Trader Joes and they work really nicely but you can use any rolled oats you choose. Also, I’m not even sure what coconut chips are so I have always used unsweetened coconut. While I love pistachios, I haven’t actually used them in this recipe. I usually substitute walnuts or pecans and/or both. The pecans especially, get nice and golden and crispy! Yum! I use dried cranberries and cherries as a substitute for apricots as well. Fee free to play around with it each time to find out what you like.

If you like a crunchier granola, I suggest giving them a little stir every 15 min and then letting them go for a few extra minutes at the end of the 45 min. Make sure you watch it though so it doesn’t burn!

Thank you to my good friend, Shallah Jewel for bringing this into my life! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade granola

  1. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe Meg.
    When you mentioned the granola before
    I was hoping to get the recipe from you. I’m so
    glad that you’re enjoying making your house into a “home”.

  2. Hi Meg… just printed your recipe out and look forward to making it, now that school is out and I have time to breathe. I’d love to see a pic of your new home… can you post one on your blog, or send one to my e-mail?

    Thanks,

    Aunt Martha

Leave a Reply

