Dine-In

Kitchens are the hub of a home. Well, at least every home I’ve lived in. It’s where we start our days with fuel, drink our morning cup of joe, and for me, it’s where I watch Matt Lauer and Ann Curry. When we first walked through our new home, I immediately envisioned a creamy, round, pedestal table placed right in front of the big window in our kitchen. Tons of morning light stream through and in the afternoon, rays of sunshine dance across the hardwood floors.

I’m not a huge fan of matchy-matchy kitchen sets so I was on the hunt for something more charming. With a small budget and thrifty blood coursing through my body, I found just what I was looking for on Craigslist. The only caveat- it was in Front Royal, VA, a good hour or so away. Here’s what it looked like:

It also came with four detailed chairs with spindles that I’m working on for my office. I wanted a more updated look for the chairs in the kitchen so I painted the existing “X” back chairs we had from Pier One.

The table and chairs were a ridiculous deal that I couldn’t pass up. So my supportive husband and I drove out west on a Saturday morning to retrieve our treasure! Of course, we needed to reward ourselves for our distant travels so we made a day of it and stopped at some wineries along the way!

A dining table and fours chairs plus wine, chocolate and a scenic view? Yes please!

I can’t say the view from my kitchen table is as beautiful but it certainly treats me well in the morning.

Turns out I ended up painting the walls in my great room a very similar color to Paris grey, which is the color I chose for the chairs. I did them two-toned with the seats in Old Ocre to match the table. The photo was taken at night but in the morning when I’m eating my eggs and enjoying the Today show, I can look out over our deck and check out my basil and flowers. Thanks Front Royal!

One thought on “Dine-In

  1. Looks GREAT, Meg. Your day was a great success! I am enjoying your journey of taking something old and making it new and unique for your home. Good job!

Leave a Reply

