Day Off

Well, kind of. Sure I didn’t have to go to “work” today, but I still had plenty of things to do. I’m not complaining though because going to Lucketts was on my to-do list. I might have had to pick up a certain someones birthday present. Shhh! Of course I won’t reveal that gift until after August 8th, but I did find a few great items.

First was this cool lampshade! It was in a clearance pile because it’s slightly dented on the front by the numbers, but I thought it was worthy enough to come home with me.

I also picked up this vintage bottle carrier for a steal. It will be perfectly practical down by our bar when we finish it.

 

Now, this piece is a little out of my comfort zone but something about it spoke to me. I was looking for an interesting side table to go by the couches in the man cave. It won’t stay in this spot but you get an idea of what I will use it for eventually. It was an old display stand in a store in Purceville, VA. For $10, it is a great statement piece and slightly industrial for the basement. I don’t know what it is about a price tag with $10 but I can’t resist! Maybe because it’s such a nice, round number.

On the way home, I stopped by a local farm to pick up some delicious produce.

The sweetest, old man was selling a bounty of vegetables and fruit. I picked up some ripe tomatoes, an avocado, some plums and peaches plus some summer squash. Yum! Running errands at Lucketts and a farm stand doesn’t really seem like a chore.

I have to introduce you to someone special. He is the reason today is technically my Saturday! On Friday, June 29th at 11:49 pm, Kyle Andrew Dovi was born! I am a nanny for his older siblings, Matthew and Ava. It certainly was an exciting, stormy and adventurous weekend you chose, Kyle!

 

Welcome to the world sweet boy! I can’t wait to watch you grow-up just like your brother and sister! Congratulations to the proud parents, Debbie and Damien Dovi!

2 thoughts on “Day Off

  1. Meg, I really like the box tray that is sitting on your side table. What was it before you beautifully transformed it?
    What a cute little guy and she picked a great name. If a persons name really speaks about one, then she has a sweet young man ; ) I can attest!
    Sounds like you had my kind of day. Luckett’s is such a neat little town. At times I wish I still lived in Va.; it is hard to find places like that here in FL.
    Do you think I could paint marble with the Annie Sloan paint?
    I was wondering if I could send you a picture of my dinning room/living-room for some advice??
    I am over the green plaid wallpaper on the lower 1/3 of the wall. I am thinking about putting up some bead-board and painting it. I just am not sure what color to paint it, I am thinking probably a brown, but not sure what shade, or if that would look good.

    • Hi Laura! You should visit us with Tracy and we could have a fantastic day exploring,shopping and going to wineries!

      Yes, please send me pictures at paintedbranch@gmail.com and I would be happy to give you advice! I’d be interested to see what marble piece you are wanting to paint. It certainly can be done. Looking forward to seeing your pictures! Have a great 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

