Duck Egg Desk

A few months ago, I purchased a can of Duck Egg Blue chalk paint from Stifel and Capra. It sat in my garage just waiting for the perfect piece of furniture  to bathe itself in. As luck would have it, I was fortunate enough to collect a few things from a family friend. Her family was in the middle of a major renovation of her father-in-law’s charming home and they were looking to unload some things. I picked up an amazing chandelier (which I’m almost finished refreshing), a mirror that has seen better days, some old books, and a sleek desk. This is what the desk looked like when I picked it up. Please excuse the iPhone picture.

Check out that shag carpet and wood-paneled walls! It just screams 60’s. The desk is a little retro and certainly different from what I’ve worked with in the past. I saw potential in her and decided to give it a go.

Here was a perfect opportunity to test out ASCP Duck Egg.

This is with the first coat:

Here she is. New and improved with two coats of paint, clear wax, distressed and finished with dark wax and new hardware!

 

I can just imagine this piece in someone’s study with a sweet upholstered chair or even in a baby boys room as a chic changing table!

This unique desk is now for sale in the “Shop” section. Please let me know if you’re interested in adding this desk to your home! You can email me at thepaintedbranch@gmail.com.

6 thoughts on “Duck Egg Desk

  1. Awesome Meg! As soon as the Army sends me to DC, I will start buying your stuff…I love it!! Do you need more business? I have a bunch of friends on FB in the DC area and I could post the items you are selling on my FB page as well…let me know.

    • Oh my goodness yes! I would so appreciate you posting a link to my blog! Thank you so much! I can’t wait until you guys live here again :o)

  2. Wow, awesome transformation….you turned drab into beautiful! I am going with a friend to check out the Annie Sloan paint, tomorrow. Can’t wait to paint something!!

      • I didn’t buy anything just yet. It was all a bit overwhelming to say the least. So I decided to sleep on it before deciding. The owner of the store gave us a demonstration and lots of info. I wasn’t expecting the pricey price tag either. But now after thinking it through her package deal was not bad considering how much came in the package. Basically I would only be paying for the paint, 2 waxes and $14 for one medium brush. Do you use Annie’s brushes? I will send the pictures again. I am thinking of using primer red with the dark wax. Let me know what your opinion is after you see the pictures. How many projects can you do with 1 can? She said it goes a long way!

      • Hi Laura! It’s sounds like you’re well onyour way to becoming addicted! I can’t wait to see how it all turns out. I have two wax brushes. One for clear and one for dark. They are $35 a piece here! Yikes! You can do many smaller projects with one can and about 3-4 larger pieces. You can go super light on the first coat to stretch your can. Looking forward to seeing your progress!

Leave a Reply

