Old World Travel

There’s something about a vintage piece of luggage that I just can’t resist. I love dreaming about where they have traveled, who used to own them and what things they’ve been filled with. If you think about your own luggage and where it’s been on this Earth, it’s pretty cool to own someones travel history as well.

I posted about  a suitcase I found last year but I went to a yard sale a few weekends ago and found some gems.

 

Sitting pretty on the front lawn were these beautiful, Italian leather suitcases. My eyes lit up like a kid on Christmas morning and I knew I had to have them. They were missing a price tag so the woman kindly asked, “how much do you think?” It’s one of the greatest questions you can hear at a yard sale! She willingly accepted my offer of $20 and I went home a very happy girl!

 

They are currently in my guest room in the corner but I think I will play around with them soon for a more creative purpose. Here are some other ideas for using vintage suitcases from the blog world.

{cupcakesandcashmere.com}

{furiousshirley.com}

{rockinbantiques.blogspot.com}

{homedit.com}

You can search for your own vintage suitcases at yard sales, thrift stores and antique stores. Make sure you check for musty smells or deteriorating fabric because those are hard to clean. I encourage everyone to use a vintage suitcase in their home for added charm and character. Happy hunting!

http://rockinbantiques.blogspot.com/2011/10/unpack-your-vintage-suitcases.html

http://www.homedit.com/vintage-luggage-home-decor/

One thought on “Old World Travel

Leave a Reply

