Charming Side Table

This little gem used to be your run-of-the-mill side table. It’s a common find in local thrift stores and at estate sales. A client passed this on to me for a makeover. She is building an addition onto her home which will be a beautiful, screened-in porch.

This is what it looked like when I picked it up.

Elegant but needing something more. She requested a navy color. I made my own chalk paint by mixing latex paint with Plaster of Paris.

This particular blue is called Windsor Haze by Behr. I don’t usually measure ratios of paint to plaster. I mix it in until it’s the thick consistency I think is necessary. Sometimes it requires a little water.

Now it is a charming little table that will add lots of character to her new porch!

 

I used two coats of Windsor Haze, distressed it, added a clear coat of wax and then a light coat of dark wax.
Experimenting with a different clear wax was a nice change of pace. Instead of using Annie Sloan clear wax, I picked up a jar of Miss Mustard Seeds Furniture wax at Lucketts.

Review: I loved it! It’s a little creamier than AS and smells less toxic. It goes on lighter and smoother and I think I like the sheen even more. I will be using it on another project quite soon!

One thought on “Charming Side Table

Leave a Reply

