Vintage Kitchen Set

This sweet little kitchen set sort of just fell into my lap. As a teacher at my former elementary school, my mom had a teacher friend who was looking to clean shop and wanted to unload these nostalgic gems. She was so sweet to think of me and I snatched them up immediately. They had certainly seen decades of imaginative play. I remember playing with similar ones when I was a little tyke. At that time, I’m sure they were already ancient!

DSC_1457  DSC_1459

Don’t they immediately take you back to your childhood?!

I wanted to use materials I had on hand. I just happened to have twos cans of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Duck Egg Blue and Paris Grey. Inspiration told me to keep them gender neutral. I’m not one for the pink kitchen sets because I think it limits both boys to get involved with cooking. I know plenty of fantastic male cooks so why hinder that at such a fragile age?! My choice in colors was two-fold. I’m not a mother yet, but I know that when I do have children, my first choice in toy decor will not be primary colors! Painting this vintage set in coordinating colors allows for it to be incorporated into stylish home decor. The children can play and be creative and mom is happy that there is not an eye-sore in her cohesive space. Everybody wins!

DSC_1460  DSC_1461

These two sturdy pieces were screaming for some fun and color. I painted the interiors first in Duck Egg Blue. I wanted to add an extra, hidden element so chalkboard paint was applied to three of the interior doors! Removing the fourth door provided a space for feminine curtains.

DSC_1552  DSC_1555

There were a few flat panels at the top and bottom that were perfect for a stencil detail!

After clear waxing, sanding and lightly dark waxing, it was time to apply a few new pieces of hardware. Unfortunately, the before pictures of the hardware I purchased got deleted when my hard drive decided to crash on me. I went with simple, brass pieces that had a vintage feel to them. They got a coat of paint as well to tie them into the color scheme.

Here is the completed kitchen set just ready to cook something up!

DSC_0023  DSC_0031

I left the original sink as it was after a little polishing. It is still in great shape and adds to the charm. The burners were hand-painted by yours truly.

DSC_0022  DSC_0020  DSC_0021

This adorable set is sure to keep kids imaginations running wild for hours! I also added some hooks on the side for utensils and  pot holders.

DSC_0026  DSC_0024 photo

The knobs for the sink turn as well. That’s my adorable husband doing some “plumbing work” on the hardware!

I had a lot of fun giving these pieces of childhood history a facelift. I hope they will make some child (or children) happy for years to come!

This set is now for sale in my shop. Please email me at thepaintedbranch@gmail.com if you are interested. Pass it along on my Facebook page if you know someone who’s child would love to whip up some chocolate chip cookies and mac and cheese!

8 thoughts on “Vintage Kitchen Set

  1. This is so adorable! What a great Mom you are!! I love the color you chose too! Thanks so much for sharing your creativity at Project Inspired! I liked you on Facebook! 😀

    • Hi Heather! Thanks for the like on Facebook! I don’t actually have children of my own but I nanny for three cuties who I love just the same :o) Still looking for someone to take home the kitchen set for their little one!

    • Thank you for sharing my blog with your lovely readers! It means a lot! I’m hoping the chalkboard paint on them won’t cause little ones to start drawing on the kitchen cabinet doors! :o)

Leave a Reply

