Shop Your Home

If you’re like me, you get into a mood where you want to decorate, change things, and rearrange furniture on a whim.

In May, we will have been in our house for a year so I still have a few random things hidden away in the guest closest that never found a home. The other day, I was itching to organize the closest and put up some art in the basement bathroom. Not wanting to spend any additional money to do this, I went shopping in my own home! It’s kind of like finding new treasures when things are still wrapped up from a move and you don’t remember what you have!

The basement, or “Man Cave” as it’s lovingly called, has a lot of sports memorabilia and Chicago sentiments that are close to my husband’s heart. It was important to me, and to him, that the bathroom also fit into that theme. Recently, my sister-in-law was getting rid of some her fantastic photographs from high school. She was going to throw them away but I could not allow that! We rescued them and worked them into the Chicago motif! They were prints without frames so I opened up that treasure chest that is our guest closest to find a few.

20130214-133057.jpg

This was a project from our old apartment. I simply removed the ribbon and photographs and poof… four frames! I stumbled across another frame that I had chalk painted and had left over from this project:

DSC_0988

After thirty minutes of rearranging and hanging, this is what we ended up with.

DSC_0015  DSC_0012

DSC_0011

It feels like a classy, Chicago sports-bar bathroom. If you look closely, you can see that the prints are of old Chicago buildings and street life. They are unique and fantastic! Check out my sister-in-laws site for her most recent work!

Let’s face it ladies. In a perfect world, the basement would not become the “man-cave” covered in jerseys, primary colors and huge, black TVs. It’s all about compromise though and on this Valentine’s Day, it’s a nice reminder to pick your battles wisely! I have decorating domain on a majority of the house so it’s the least I can do!

I came across this gem while searching through the closest. If ever there were a truer phrase! Gentlemen, remember this today!

20130214-133118.jpg

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

