Out of the Box: Painted Wicker Baskets

The other day I stepped out of my comfort zone and slapped some chalk paint on an interesting object. A client that I’m doing quite a few pieces for, sent me over a wicker basket and shelf to pump a little life into. If I’m being honest, I don’t love when wicker pieces are starting me down in my garage begging for messy spray paint. Since it is still freezing outside, I wasn’t quite up for the spray paint battle. Then I thought to myself, “why can’t I just use a brush and some chalk paint?” Well, the answer is, I absolutely can!

The pieces were in a typical, boring, brown motif.

wickerbasketWM wickershelfWM

 

Yes, this is me painting in my basement again praying that all paint stays on the furniture and not on my carpet! My client is not sure where these pieces will end up but she may use them for staging homes. She requested the same beautiful navy we have been working with for a while. I promise there will be projects coming up that are not navy!

bluewickerbasWM bluewickershelfWM

Here is the basket. It adds a nice pop of color to the corner of a room. I have it placed in my guest bedroom here to hold soft, plush blankets. Something like this could be used for lots of things! I’m almost finished with the wicker shelf. It has proven to be a little more tedious than the basket. May I suggest that you only paint wicker that you love and will see a lot? It requires patience to paint all those little nooks and crannies as well as a special “wiggle” technique of the paint brush!

Here are some other excellent examples of how a little paint can transform mundane wicker!

CPwicker

Source: Maison Decor

CPwicker2

I love the stenciled detail on this piece!

Source: Juniper Hill Antiques

CPwicker3

Source: Linda Holt Interiors

CPwicker4

Love the idea of painting on numbers for organized storage!

Source: The Lily Pad Cottage

CPwicker5

Maybe you don’t even paint the whole thing. Just a thick band and some numbers will do!

Source: Scandi Coast Home

You can easily find cheap baskets and wicker furniture at yard sales and thrift stores. Is anyone else getting super excited for yard sales to start popping up?! I can hardly contain myself thinking about early Saturday mornings on the hunt for treasures holding a cup of coffee to keep me going! Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Out of the Box: Painted Wicker Baskets

  1. It’s a wonderfull idea! I especially like the last basket with the numbers on it!
    If you’d like to check out my blog and facebook, it’d be a pleasure to follow yours back!

Leave a Reply

