Kitchen Menu Board

Finally, after almost a year of sitting in the garage, my menu board is complete! I found this tall, skinny door at Lucketts last spring.

kitchenchalkboard5WM

As soon as I laid eyes on it, I imagined it as a chalkboard hanging in my kitchen. And now, that is exactly what I have! Don’t you just love when a vision comes to fruition?

I decided to try a new chalk paint this go around! Since Stylish Patina has moved to a new location, Stifel and Capra no longer carries Annie Sloan’s line of paints and waxes. However, it allows a new paint to be stocked and they now carry CeCe Caldwell’s paint line. I was warned that the color I chose, Dover White, was the thinnest of them all.

kitchenchalkboard1WM  kitchenchalkboard6WM

I will say that I was a little frightened when I first put it on. I wasn’t sure about the coverage. But as it dried, it was more solid. A second coat was necessary and then came the clear wax. I used Miss Mustard Seed’s clear wax but it appeared to be making marks and making the paint much darker! Yikes! I walked away hoping that time would heal it. Indeed it did. It was fine after drying. In the future, I might try a different color from CeCe’s line.

After taping off the freshly painted sides, I applied two coats of chalkboard paint about 24 hours apart.

kitchenchalkboard2WM

Just in time for the Easter dinner menu!

kitchenchalkboardWM  kitchenchalkboard4WM  kitchenchalkboard3WM

It adds a whole new dimension to the tiny corner by my kitchen table. My plan is to write our weekly dinner menu on it every week. That seem more glamorous than writing it on a piece of paper and hanging it on the fridge!

We’re almost to the weekend! Hang in there!

12 thoughts on “Kitchen Menu Board

  1. Meg, when looking at the “door” that you made into a chalkboard I keep thinking it might have been part of hte surroundings of an old old door – my old place her had glass boarders over the top of the door and all the way down the sides…gosh, I wish you lived closer to me to take some of the antiques I have – it would be great having someone who would appreciate them. I took the piece like you have and have enarged old photos from my growing up years on the farm in the 40s and placed them against mats in teh glass portions and to hand it over my old brass bed. love you, Meg – good job you are doing!! see you in May!!

  2. Did you apply tg he chalkboard paint directly to the glass? I have not used chalkboard paint but I am wanting to try it and wasn’t sure what kind of surfaces it would stick to. Your menu board turned out great.

Leave a Reply

