Charming Entry Table

Everyone needs a place to toss their keys, that pile of mail and the occasional coffee cup or drink. My friends, Jen and Jon, just recently bought a house in Maryland and they asked me to look out for a small accent table. On the day of the second estate sale, I received their request and had a perfect little table for the job.

Here is the awkward space they were trying to fill for functionality.

jonjen4WM

My grandmother used to house her sewing and embroidery materials in this little table. The bottom drawer slides out but it took me forever to figure out that if you push in the top drawer, it spins out for a hidden place for thread!

Here it is in the “before” phase with lots of water marks and stains on the top.

jonjen3WM

Jen and Jon told me that they had a table in the hallway close to the door that was blue and white. I jumped off of that theme and this is what it ended up like!

jonjen2WM

I’m really happy with how it turned out and I hope they are too. It’s so nice to know that my grandmother’s belongings will live on in my friend’s home. I think it’s just the right fit for the little nook.!

jonjenWM

The blue paint on this piece is handmade chalk paint from previous projects. The white paint is ASCP in Old Ochre. I lightly sanded and distressed the whole thing and then applied Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Wax.

Enjoy Jon and Jen and welcome home!

Leave a Reply

