OoTB: From Pallet to Wine Rack and My Return

My goodness! How time flies and the summer sails right on by. I have been in and out-of-town and haven’t quite had the time for blogging or projects in the past month. I’m excited to get back on the horse and get back to the blogging world! I have seen a slow down in some of my favorite blogs over the summer so hopefully I’m not the only one who went MIA.

A few weeks ago, I did a post about a pallet sign that I made for my cousin and her family.

worldsignWM7

I had a few pieces of wood leftover from that project. In my “waste nothing” mentality, I decided to create a wine rack out of the remaining materials. My sister would be the recipient as it was a late housewarming gift!

This is the basic structure that I nailed together and reinforced for sturdiness.

winerackWM

After giving it a good sanding, it was time to apply a wood conditioning treatment so that the stain would go on evenly.

winerack1WM

winerack3WM

In my excitement to turn this pallet wood into a rich, wine cubby, I forgot to photograph the stain I used. But it was Minwax in Jacobean! After that dried overnight, I sealed it with a clear, protective gloss for extra protection.

winerack4

Here it is hanging up in its new home and looking mighty beautiful!

winerack6

winerack5WM

winerack7WM

Makes you want to take your pick and cuddle up with a Merlot doesn’t it?!

Happy to be back! Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

