Feeling of Autumn

It’s officially fall! The time of year on the East Coast where the breeze is picking up crunchy leaves, the air is cool and crisp, perfect for apple picking and people are feeding their need for Pumpkin Spice Lattes. I love summer but I hold a special place in my heart for fall. Chunky sweaters and boots, football games and chili in the crock pot are so soothing to me. Yesterday was a lovely day in Northern Virginia and I had an itch to decorate for the season. Here are a few small changes I made to get in the fall spirit. It’s doesn’t take much.

fallboardWM

I like to swap out the writing and decor on my chalkboard that sits in my living room.  Just a few simple words can create a cozy feeling.

I can’t eat wheat but that doesn’t mean I can’t decorate with it!

fall2WM

I cut these hydrangeas from my parent’s plant right before they will die off. They have changed hues from bright pinks and greens to a deep plum color, perfect for autumn. Arranging them without water in my new, shabby tote will dry them out nicely.

fall3WM  fall4WM

Pine cones. What else can I say? I love the natural vibe they emit and the texture they provide in any decor.

fall5WM

Who doesn’t love a pumpkin scented candle? I found that twiggy, little pumpkin at TJ Maxx last year and I love it!

fall6WM

This is just the start but like I said, it really only takes a few details to change the feel of your home for the season. I will probably only add a few pumpkins here and there in neutral colors like white, sage and cinnamon.

Have fun with accessories and getting in the mood for fall!

Leave a Reply

