Blog Anniversary and a Deep Blue Desk

Today I realized that it is the two-year anniversary of The Painted Branch! It’s pretty exciting to see how far it’s come and where it has taken me. Thank you to all of my readers who are following me on this journey and to the support of my family and my loving husband!

For today’s post, I wanted to share the transformation of a desk that has made a cozy home in my basement for over a year! The kicker is, it’s not even mine! It belongs to a client that is in no hurry to get the desk back until her renovation is complete. Although it is lovely, I do believe it has over-stayed its welcome.

Here is what it looked like when it was dropped off.

moiradesk1WM  moiradesk2WM

As you can see, it wasn’t really horrible but it was her old childhood desk and she wanted a fresh look.

moiradesk3WM

This photo better represents the outdated finish. It was covered in a Formica material. With any other paint application, it would be difficult to adhere to the surface. Chalk paint solves that problem!

With that said, I didn’t use Annie Sloan Chalk Paint on this piece because my client had a specific color in mind. I did mix latex paint with Plaster of Paris to give it a more chalky appearance and so that it would adhere better.

After applying two coats of the paint, VERY lightly distressing the edges so a little white popped through and then clear waxing it, this is what it looks like now!

moiradesk4WM  moiradesk5WM

moiradesk6WM

I left the hardware alone because it was beautiful and unique. The deep, blue color adds a regal and sophisticated class to the desk.

I hope you all have a wonderful Halloween and stay safe while trick-or-treating!

One thought on “Blog Anniversary and a Deep Blue Desk

Leave a Reply

