The End of Hibernation

I know what you’re thinking… No this is not a mistake. You are indeed reading a new blog post from The Painted Branch! Admittedly, I have been hibernating since November and have just recently gotten my barrings back. I don’t even know how the hibernation started but somewhere between the holiday season, starting a new business and taking a few trips, projects and the blog got pushed further and further down the list.

I’m sure some of you can relate. On the East coast, and let’s face it, everywhere else in the US, we have had a brutal winter. Painting in a freezing garage with frozen paint just isn’t as appealing as painting out in the sunshine and warmth with birds chirping happily. In hopes that the latter scenario is right around the corner, I thought I would ease back into things gently.

This is not to say that I’ve been completely dormant. I have still been working on things, just at a snail’s pace. Recently, a client asked me to paint a few pieces she had for her girl’s room before baby number three arrives at the end of this month! So, instead of shivering with a paint brush in the garage, I brought the production into the basement as I have before. My husband is a VERY patient guy, bless his heart.

These pieces were left behind by the previous owner of the house that they purchased. They’re sweet and feminine but most certainly outdated with that floral print and Formica finish. Virginia wanted a clean, sweet look that would eventually be versatile enough to move around to different rooms.

VAallen5WM Vaallen6WM VAallen3WM VAallen4WM

We settled on Annie Sloan Old White for a soft, neutral with a little dimension.

Here is the desk with two coats before clear wax.

VAallen2WM

You can see how covering up the blue and floral motif really streamlined this desk and brought it up to date. Originally we talked about adding dark wax around the edges for an aged look. The problem with doing that on a piece that is not real wood and can’t be distressed is that it just makes the Old White look dirty. So I decided to keep it clean and just apply clear wax.

The chair definitely needed to be re-upholstered so I picked out a fun, sophisticated, neutral print.

VAallen1WM

I failed to take photos before they came to pick them up so Virginia was nice enough to send some to me after they made it into their new spaces!

VAallen7WM VAallen8WM VAallen9WM

Imagine putting this desk, mirror and nightstand into these places with the previous print and color. It would be chaotic and out-of-place! Now they are pretty and clean and add to the overall look of the room.

Congratulations on baby number 3 Virginia and I hope you enjoy your “new” furniture!

Ah, it feels good to be back!

2 thoughts on “The End of Hibernation

  1. Ahh, I have missed you, Meg. I was beginning to think that perhaps you were pregnant and this was taking a back seat ; ) lol ….Glad to hear and see that all is well and you are jumping back in to the Blog world!

    • Haha! With lack of time these days, it feels like I could be pregnant. But that is not the case! When I am, I’m sure you will see a lot more “baby” projects and redesigns on here :o) Thanks for your loyal readership!

Leave a Reply

