Ahoy Matey!

Truth be told, this dresser has been sitting in my garage for a decent chunk of time. I was gifted this beautiful, classic, Ethan Allen dresser and as soon as I saw it, I knew I wanted to do something in a masculine, contrasting tone. The cherry wood is too beautiful to cover up completely so I wanted that to be highlighted.

We’ve all seen pieces like this over the years.

nauticaldresser6WM nauticaldresser7WM

It’s a classic shape and certainly high functioning with all of those drawers. But those brass pulls might as well be geometric and neon because we’re not in the 80’s anymore!

With summer quickly approaching and the strong bones of this dresser, a nautical theme was calling my name and this was the perfect canvas.

I settled on painting just the top and drawer fronts with Annie Sloan’s Graphite.

nauticaldresser8WM

The color is nearly black but has more character than true black. It’s masculine in nature and lends itself to that old-school, sailor style.

There was no way those brass pulls were making it back on so I incorporated more nautical details by making rope pulls for each drawer!

nauticaldresser3WM

I really love how it all pulled (haha, no pun intended) together to reveal a real sense of all things nautical.

nauticaldresser2WM

The edges of the drawers are lightly distressed but they didn’t need much. I also painted two stripes down the sides for extra detail.

All of the drawers are fully functioning and offer a ton of storage, some even with dividers!

nauticaldresser5WM

This is truly a wonderfully crafted dresser and will last forever.

nauticaldresser4WM

I imagine it  in a little boys room with oars on the wall, rope accents and fishing poles. A  future sailor in the making! It would also be lovely in a beach cottage or home as an accent piece or in a guest bedroom. The possibilities are endless!

This stunning dresser will be listed in my shop so please email me at thepaintedbranch@gmail.com if you or someone you know is interested.

Here’s to summer in the near future!

Leave a Reply

